Connect with us

Steelers News

10 Former Steelers win UFL Title with Birmingham Stallions

Pittsburgh native Kenny Robinson was one of 10 former Steelers to win a UFL title with the Birmingham Stallions.



Steelers S Kenny Robinson
Pittsburgh Steelers safety Kenny Robinson (left) at training camp on July 30, 2023. -- Ed Thompson / Steelers Now

The Birmingham Stallions shut out the San Antonio Brahmas, 25-0 to win the inaugural UFL Championship, with eight former members of the Pittsburgh Steelers taking part in the title victory, and 10 former Pittsburgh players earning UFL title rings.

Stallions quarterback Adrian Martinez won the championship game MVP award after throwing for one touchdown and rushing for two more in the victory. Two former Steelers were among his targets in the title game, with tight end Jace Sternberger catching four passes for 19 yards and wide receiver Deon Cain adding one catch for six yards.

Contributing to the shutout effort on defense were former Steelers cornerback Nevelle Clarke (five tackles, pass breakup, forced fumble), safety Kenny Robinson Jr. (two tackles), cornerback Madre Harper (two tackles, pass breakup), nose tackle Carlos Davis (two tackles, one pass breakup) and outside linebacker Taco Charlton. Former Steelers offensive lineman Derwin Gray started at tackle for Birmingham. Fellow tackle Christian DiLauro was on the injured reserve list. Cornerback Mark Gilbert was inactive with a neck injury.

San Antonio running backAnthony McFarland had nine carries for 32 yards and six catches for 38 yards in a losing effort. John Lovett had one carry for two yards. Tight end Alize Mack caught two passes for one yard. Rashaad Coward started at Guard for the Brahmas. Outside linebacker Delontae Scott had six tackles and safety Scott Nelson had one tackle.

The 11-1 Stallions avenged their only loss of the season, an 18-9 loss to San Antonio at the Alamodome on May 25. The championship game was played at a neutral site in St. Louis. Birmingham won the USFL title in 2022 and 2023, and has now won three titles in a row with a victory in the UFL, the league formed this spring through a merge of the USFL and XFL.

USFL Steelers Deon Cain

Former Pittsburgh Steelers and current Birmingham Stallions WR Deon Cain after winning the USFL Championship Game MVP Award in Canton, Ohio on July 1, 2023. — Andre Swinton / Steelers Now