Connect with us

Steelers News

4 Players Added to Steelers Hall of Honor



Two recent Steelers and two from the past comprise the teams Class of 2019 Hall of Honor.

Saturday afternoon in Latrobe, the organization announced that former head coach Bill Cowher, wide receiver Hines Ward, tight end/tackle Larry Brown and tight end Elbie Nickel were voted in the Steelers Hall of Honor.

Larry Brown (1971-84): was the Steelers 1st round pick in 1971 and played tight end for his first seven seasons before moving to tackle for his final seven with the Black and Gold. Brown was voted to three Pro Bowls and to the Steelers All-Time Team. Brown is part of some exclusive company as one of only 22 players to play on all four of the Steelers Super Bowl winning teams in the 1970’s.

Elbie Nickel (1947-57): was a member of the Steelers All-Time Team as he finished with 329 catches and 37 touchdowns. The 329 receptions are the second most by a tight end in team history.

Bill Cowher (1992-2006): The Pittsburgh native led the Steelers to two Super Bowls, including beating Seattle in Super Bowl XL. Cowher led the team to 149 wins, 8 division championships and made the playoffs in 10 of his 15 seasons.

Hines Ward (1998-2011): A two-time Super Bowl Champion, a 4-time Pro Bowl player and a member of the Steelers All-Time Team. Ward became the Steelers all-time leader in receptions, yards and receiving touchdowns.

The 2019 induction ceremony will take place on Sunday, September 29 at Heinz Field, the day before the Steelers host the Cincinnati Bengals on Monday Night Football.

The Steelers Hall of Honor, which was established in 2017, is a group of former Steelers players, coaches and front office personnel.