Connect with us

Steelers News

Aaron Donald Beats Out T.J. Watt for PFWA NFL Defensive Player of the Year



Steelers Rams Aaron Donald

Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald has been named the Pro Football Writers of America 2020 NFL Defensive Player of the Year.

Donald won the award for the third time in the last four seasons, joining J.J. Watt as the only player to win the award, which has been given out annually since 1992, three times.

Quarterback Aaron Rodgers was named PFWA NFL Most Valuable Player. Tennessee Titans running back Derrick Henry was named PFWA Offensive Player of the Year.

Donald edged Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt, who led the NFL in sacks, tackles for loss and quarterback hits and has been considered the favorite to win he Associated Press version of the award.

Donald finished the regular season with 13.5 sacks, 14 tackles for loss, 27 quarterback hits and 45 tackles, while finishing with an NFL-high approximate value of 22, per Pro Football Reference.

He has also been named to a 2020 Associated Press All-Pro, to the 2020 PFWA All-NFL team and to the 2021 Pro Bowl roster.