Connect with us

Steelers News

Chase Claypool Wins Joe Greene Award as Steelers Rookie of the Year



Wide receiver Chase Claypool has won the Joe Greene Great Performance Award as the Pittsburgh Steelers rookie of the year, after a vote by the Pittsburgh chapter of the Pro Football Writers Association, chapter president Mark Kaboly announced on Wednesday.

Claypool, the Steelers’ top pick when drafted in the second round out of Notre Dame, has impressed in his rookie season. In 15 games, Claypool has hauled in 57 passes for 772 yards while also running for 16 yards and scoring 10 total touchdowns.

His eight receiving touchdowns lead all rookie wide receivers and he’s fourth among NFL rookies in receiving yards.

Claypool was the 11th wide receiver selected in the 2020 NFL Draft when the Steelers took him with the 49th overall selection. Only Justin Jefferson (No. 22, Minnesota Vikings), CeeDee Lamb (No. 17, Dallas Cowboys) and Tee Higgins (No. 33, Cincinnati Bengals) have more receiving yards.

Claypool had to defeat a crowded field of contenders, as third-round pick outside linebacker Alex Higsmith and fourth-round picks guard Kevin Dotson and running back Anthony McFarland Jr. have all played extensively.

Linebacker Devin Bush won the award in 2019. The last three offensive players to win the award were all wide receivers. The first winner of the award was also a wide receiver, as Louis Lipps was the inaugural recipient in 1984.

2020 WR Chase Claypool
2019 ILB Devin Bush
2018 SS Terrell Edmunds
2017 WR JuJu Smith-Schuster
2016 FS Sean Davis
2015 OLB Bud Dupree
2014 WR Martavis Bryant
2013 RB Le’Veon Bell
2012 OT Mike Adams
2011 OT Marcus Gilbert
2010 C Maurkice Pouncey
2009 WR Mike Wallace
2008 LB Patrick Bailey
2007 P Daniel Sepulveda
2006 WR Santonio Holmes
2005 TE Heath Miller
2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger
2003 SS Troy Polamalu
2002 OG Kendall Simmons
2001 ILB Kendrell Bell
2000 FB Dan Kreider
1999 WR Troy Edwards
1998 OG Alan Faneca
1997 CB Chad Scott
1996 FB Jon Witman
1995 QB Kordell Stewart
1994 RB Bam Morris
1993 ILB Chad Brown
1992 FS Darren Perry
1991 TE Adrian Cooper
1990 TE Eric Green
1989 SS Carnell Lake
1988 RB Warren Williams
1987 CB Delton Hall
1986 LB Anthony Henton
1985 P Harry Newsome
1984 WR Louis Lipps