Connect with us

NFL Draft

Every No. 49 Pick in NFL Draft History



The Steelers have the 49th pick in the 2020 NFL Draft. So how about the other 50 49th picks since the NFL merger? Can a look at history give us any predictions on what kind of player the Steelers could get in this year’s draft?

Probably not, but it’s fun to look anyway!

49th pick fun facts

  • There are eight former 49th picks still playing in the NFL, with DeSean Jackson (2008) being the oldest remaining.
  • There are no 49th picks in the Hall-of-Fame, although Roger Craig, the 49th pick in 1983 probably should be.
  • Four former 49th picks have been selected to an All-Pro team (year drafted in parenthesis): Craig (1983), Max Unger (2009), Delvin Williams (1974), Barret Robbins (1995)
  • Only two never played a game in the NFL, Steelers 1978 pick DE Willie Fry and Bengals 2007 selection RB Kenny Irons.
  • The Steelers have had one previous No. 49 pick, the aforementioned Willie Fry.
  • Only one quarterback has ever been selected, Kellen Clemmens in 2006 by the New York Jets.
  • More running backs have been taken at No. 49 than any other position.
  • Positional breakdown: 2 centers, 10 defensive backs, 2 defensive ends, 4 defensive tackles, 3 guards, 7 linebackers, 1 quarterback, 9 running backs, 3 tackles, 3 tight ends and 6 wide receivers.
  • Career approximate value leaders (per Pro Football Reference): Roger Craig, DeSean Jackson, Randall Godfrey, Max Unger, Brian Blades, Delvin Williams, Barret Robbins, Pete Johnson, Kevin House, Johnathan Hankins.
  • Nebraska leads all colleges with four No. 49 selections followed by Ohio State and Notre Dame with three each.

Every 49th pick since the merger

YearPlayerPosDrAgeTmAP1PBStCarAVGGSPass YdsTDIntAttYdsTDRecYdsTDIntSkCollege/Univ
2019Ben BanoguLB23IND00011602.5TCU
2018Dallas GoedertTE23PHI00283117919419South Dakota St.
2017Ryan AndersonOLB23WAS00054346Alabama
2016Jarran ReedDT23SEA00322564715.5Alabama
2015Mitch MorseG23KAN004286565Missouri
2014Jace AmaroTE22NYJ0004174414042Texas Tech
2013Johnathan HankinsDT21NYG00639988613.5Ohio St.
2012Kendall ReyesDT22SDG003227650114.5Connecticut
2011Ben IjalanaT22IND00173413Villanova
2010Taylor MaysDB22SFO000980151USC
2009Max UngerC23SEA13868130130Oregon
2008DeSean JacksonWR21PHI0311731561490017044745981042055California
2007Kenny IronsRBCIN000Auburn
2006Kellen ClemensQB23NYJ00210642140531621852273Oregon
2005Marcus JohnsonG21MIN001105318Mississippi
2004Keiwan RatliffDB23CIN000976125Florida
2003Eddie MooreLB23MIA0003183Tennessee
2002Levar FisherLB23ARI001623151North Carolina St.
2001LaMont JordanRB22NYJ002311142900189737342815813013Maryland
2000Dwayne GoodrichDB22DAL0001161Tennessee
1999Joe MontgomeryRB23NYG00021351233724Ohio St.
1998Kenny MixonDE23MIA0053710596218.5LSU
1997Torrian GrayDB23MIN000325411Virginia Tech
1996Randall GodfreyLB23DAL00970170149617Georgia
1995Barret RobbinsC22OAK11752121105TCU
1994Toby WrightDB23RAM00318594419072Nebraska
1993Roosevelt PottsRB22IND004167161359147511068634La-Monroe
1992Troy AuzenneT23CHI002176135California
1991Chris ZorichDT22CHI00328844916.5Notre Dame
1990Pat TerrellDB22RAM0043113970111Notre Dame
1989Jessie SmallLB22PHI0021253233.5East. Kentucky
1988Brian BladesWR23SEA01959156122000211560581762034Miami (FL)
1987Eric ThomasDB22CIN0153311184173Tulane
1986Doug WilliamsT23NYJ0006239Texas A&M
1985Reggie PhillipsDB24CHI0001160143SMU
1984Daryl TurnerWR22SEA004175940101187236Michigan St.
1983Roger CraigRB23SFO149951651331991818956566491117Nebraska
1982Vernon DeanDB23WAS005341015922San Diego St.
1981Chris WilliamsDB22BUF00052153LSU
1980Kevin HouseWR22TAM00642114850007410299516934Southern Illinois
1979Pat HowellG22ATL001146721USC
1978Willie FryDEPIT000Notre Dame
1977Pete JohnsonRB23CIN0175211073148956267617513346Ohio St.
1976Loaird McCrearyTE23MIA00015558953Tennessee St.
1975Stan WinfreyRB22MIA00033005521516551Arkansas St.
1974Delvin WilliamsRB23SFO12656100791801131255983315214156Kansas
1973Monte JohnsonLB21OAK00539996910Nebraska
1972Tom ReynoldsWR23NWE0002210152792San Diego St.
1971Joe OrdunaRB22SFO000239774236311581Nebraska
1970Margene AdkinsWR23DAL0003359192580Henderson JC