Connect with us


Hines Ward Named Hall of Fame Modern-Era Semifinalist



Hines Ward

Former Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver Hines Ward has been named a Pro Football Hall of Fame modern-era player semifinalist for the sixth-straight year.

Ward was included as one of the 26 semifinalists announced Wednesday, a group which also included seven first-year eligible individuals.

Ward is the Steelers’ all-time leader in receptions (1,000), receiving yards (12,083) and receiving touchdowns (85).

He was a four-time Pro Bowler and two-time Super Bowl champion. Ward was named the MVP of Super Bowl XL in Detroit, where he caught the game-winning touchdown.

The players eligible for the first time include Anquan Boldin, Devin Hester, Andre Johnson, Robert Mathis, Steve Smith, DeMarcus Ware and Vince Wilfork. All completed their playing careers in 2016.

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe and get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Copyright © 2021 Pittsburgh Sports Now / Steelers Now. In no way affiliated with or endorsed by the Pittsburgh Steelers or NFL.

Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (PA/IL) or 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN only) or 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA only) or 1-800-522-4700 (CO Only) or TN REDLINE: 800-889-9789.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!