Connect with us

Steelers News

James Conner Wins Steelers 2019 Ed Block Courage Award



Steelers running back James Conner has been selected as the recipient for the 2019 Steelers Ed Block Courage Award recipient.

The award is given to one player on each NFL team for being role models of inspiration, sportsmanship and courage. The award is voted on by the players.

“It’s an honor first and foremost to be recognized, but especially by my teammates, the ones I am with every day,” Conner said to “They are the ones I go to practice with, compete on the field, essentially go to war with. For my teammates to vote for me shows the mutual respect we have for one another and it’s such an honor to win this.”

Linebacker Ryan Shazier won the award in 2018. Cornerback Artie Burns, center Maurkice Pouncey and quarterback Ben Roethlisberger are other active former winners.

Block was a trainer for the Baltimore Colts from 1954-77. After his retirement, an annual award was given in Block’s honor for a Colts player with outstanding character. In 1984, after the Colts moved to Indianapolis, the award was expanded to honor one player on each NFL team.

Conner will receive his award at the Art Rooney Courage House Luncheon on Nov. 5. At Heinz Field.

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Subscribe Today!