Connect with us

Steelers News

Kenny Pickett Wins 2022 Joe Greene Award as Steelers Rookie of the Year



Kenny Pickett drops back to pass as the Steelers face the Ravens on Jan. 1, 2022 in Baltimore. (Mitchell Northam / Steelers Now)

Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Kenny Pickett has been announced as the recipient of this year’s Joe Greene Great Performance Award, given annually by the Pittsburgh Chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America to the team’s standout rookie player.

Kenny Pickett took over as the team’s starter in Week 5 and has grown more and more comfortable within Matt Canada’s attack. Over the course of the campaign, he’s completed 232 of his 360 passes for 2,209 yards, six scores, and nine picks.

In each of the last two weeks — against Las Vegas and Baltimore — Pickett has orchestrated late drives that were capped by exhilarating go-ahead touchdown passes, keeping the Steelers in the postseason conversation.

In last spring’s draft, he was drafted 20th overall by the Steelers and began the season as veteran journeyman Mitch Trubisky’s backup. He’s the clear signal-caller of the present and future, proving Pittsburgh’s choice right.

Past Joe Greene Award winners:

1984 WR Louis Lipps
1985 P Harry Newsome
1986 LB Anthony Henton
1987 CB Denton Hall
1988 RB Warren Williams
1989 SS Carnell Lake
1990 TE Eric Green
1991 TE Adrian Cooper
1992 FS Darren Perry
1993 LB Chad Brown
1994 RB Bam Morris
1995 QB Kordell Stewart
1996 FB Jon Witman
1997 CB Chad Scott
1998 OG Alan Faneca
1999 WR Troy Edwards
2000 FB Dan Kreider
2001 LB Kendrell Bell
2002 OG Kendall Simmons
2003 S Troy Polamalu
2004 QB Ben Roethlisberger
2005 TE Heath Miller
2006 WR Santonio Holmes
2007 P Daniel Sepulveda
2008 LB Patrick Bailey
2009 WR Mike Wallace
2010 C Maurkice Pouncey
2011 OT Marcus Gilbert
2012 OT Mike Adams
2013 RB Le’Veon Bell
2014 WR Martavis Bryant
2015 LB Bud Dupree
2016 S Sean Davis
2017 WR JuJu Smith-Schuster
2018 S Terrell Edmunds
2019 LB Devin Bush
2020 WR Chase Claypool
2021 RB Najee Harris