Connect with us


League Announces Details of 10th Annual NFL Honors Ceremony



The NFL has released further details regarding this weekend’s tenth annual NFL Honors awards ceremony.

Like so many other events over the past year, the league’s big night will be a virtual, made-for-television event honoring the biggest and brightest stars of the 2020 season.

The NFL Honors telecast will be prerecorded and hosted by comedian Steve Harvey, airing Saturday night at 9 p.m. on CBS. While there will not be a red carpet this year, a “Super Bowl Saturday Night” preview show highlighting past ceremonies will air on NFL Network at 8 p.m.

The annual event will also feature a pair of musical performance from Grammy-winning artists Green Day and Leslie Odom Jr. Green Day will kick off the show, while Odom will perform during the in-memoriam segment.

“With the unprecedented nature of this year, we are excited to bring the 10th annual NFL Honors show to life in a unique format,” said NFL Senior Vice President of Programming and Production Mark Quenzel. “We look forward to producing an unforgettable show that will celebrate the game and its brightest stars in an entertaining fashion”

The most prestigious awards of the 2020 season will be handed out Saturday night, including NFL MVP, Defensive Player of the Year and the Walter Payton Man of the Year.

Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt is a finalist for Defensive Player of the Year after his outstanding season, while newly-retired tight end Vance McDonald is a Man of the Year finalist for his outstanding work in the community.

This year’s Pro Football Hall of Fame class will also be announced Saturday night. Revolutionary Steelers scout Bill Nunn and former guard Alan Faneca are both finalists for the 2021 induction class.

Lastly, diehard Steeler fan James Bolden is in the running for the NFL Fan do the Year award, while Aliquippa-native and veteran James Martin will be honored ahead of his honorary captainship at Super Bowl LV.