Connect with us


Mitch Trubisky to Wear No. 10 with Steelers



Quarterback Mitch Trubisky will wear No. 10 with the Pittsburgh Steelers, a team spokesperson announced on Thursday just after his signing.

Trubisky wore No. 10 with both the Buffalo Bills, where he spent the 2021 season, and the Chicago Bears, where he played from 2017-20. He also wore that uniform number at North Carolina.

With the Steelers, Trubisky will be the 24th player to wear No. 10, following most notably quarterback Kordell Stewart, who wore the number from1 1995-2002.
Nicknamed “Slash,” Stewart was a sensation as a rookie athlete, when he lined up all over the field, including at wide receiver and running back. He then took over as the team’s starting quarterback and took the Steelers to two AFC Championship Games. He remains third behind Ben Roethlisberger and Terry Bradshaw in Steelers career passing yards.

Dennis Dixon (2010), Scott Campbell (1948-86), Kent Nix (1967-69) and Earl Morrall (1957-58) are among the other Pittsburgh signal-callers to wear the number.

More recently, wide receiver Santonio Holmes sported the digits from 2006-09, including his Super Bowl XLIII MVP performance. Fellow wide receivers Martavis Bryant (2014-17) and Ryan Switzer (2018-19) have also worn No. 10.

This past season, punter Corliss Waitman wore No. 10 as a fill-in for starter Pressley Harvin III. Fellow short-tenured punters Mat McBriar (2013) and John Bruno (1987) also wore No. 10.

In addition to Holmes, the other Super Bowl winner to wear No. 10 was kicker Roy Gerela, who handled the field goals and extra points for three of the Steelers’ four Super Bowl wins in the 1970s. Gerela kicked for the Steelers from 1971-78 and is still fourth on the team’s all-time scoring list.


Buzz Wetzel 1935
Swede Ellstrom 1935
Glenn Campbell 1935
Dick Sandefur 1936-37
Mac Cara 1937-38
Dick Nardi 1939
Boyd Brumbaugh 1939-41
Russ Cotton 1942
Al Postus 1945
Earl Morrall 1957-58
Rudy Bukich 1960-61
Ron Smith 1966
Kent Nix 1967-69
Roy Gerela 1971-78
Scott Campbell 1984-86
John Bruno 1987
Kordell Stewart 1995-2002
Santonio Holmes 2006-09
Dennis Dixon 2010
Mat McBriar 2013
Martavis Bryant 2014-17
Ryan Switzer 2018-19
Corliss Waitman 2021

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!