Connect with us

Steelers Transactions

Ryan Shazier Selected as 2019 George Halas Award Winner



Ryan Shazier

Pittsburgh Steelers LB Ryan Shazier has inspired scores of people on his road to recovery after a devastating hit that once left him unable to move on a football field. Through his determination and hard work, Shazier’s progress has taken him from once questionable to walk, to dancing at his very own wedding.

Though inspiring many who have followed him, Shazier can now add some hardware to his comeback story.

The PFWA announced today Shazier would be the recipient of the 2019 George Halas Award, which is given to a NFL player, coach or staff member who overcomes the most adversity to succeed.

Shazier becomes the first member of the Steelers organization to take home the award since 1985, when John Stallworth received it. Rocky Blier is the only other Steeler to be awarded the George Halas Award, winning it in 1975.

James Conner was a finalist alongside Shazier for the award as well.

As Shazier continues to work towards getting back to the football field, the award given by the PWFA serves as a landmark for how far Shazier has come. Shazier will not be playing football in 2019, as he was placed on the PUP (Physically Unable to Perform) list.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!