Connect with us


Steelers’ Ben Roethlisberger, Devin Bush among Betting Favorites for NFL Awards




Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger and linebacker Devin Bush are among the favorites to win major NFL awards, according to odds released late last week by

Roethlisberger holds 25/1 odds to win the NFL’s regular season MVP award, while Bush has 10/1 odds to win defensive rookie of the year.

The MVP favorite is Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes at 6/1, followed by Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers, Indianapolis’ Andrew Luck and Philadelphia’s Carson Wentz at 9/1. Cleveland’s Baker Mayfield has 12/1 odds, New Orleans’ Drew Brees and New England’s Tom Brady are at 14/1 and Los Angeles Chargers’ Philip Rivers is at 20/1.

There are five other players with the same 25/1 odds as Roethlisberger: Carolina’s Cam Newton, Houston’s Deshaun Watson, San Francisco’s Jimmy Garoppolo, Atlanta’s Matt Ryan and Seattle’s Russell Wilson.

Mahomes is the reigning winner. Brady won his third NFL MVP award in 2017. Ryan won in 2016, Newton in 2015 and Rodgers won in 2014 and 2011. The last and only Steelers player to win the award was Terry Bradshaw in 1978.

The last time a non-quarterback won the award was in 2012, when Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson took home the honor. There are four running backs with 50/1 odds this year: New Orleans’ Alvin Kamara, Minnesota’s Christian McCaffrey, Dallas’ Ezekiel Elliot, New York Giants’ Saquon Barkley and Los Angeles Rams’ Todd Gurley.

Los Angeles Rams and former Pitt defensive tackle Aaron Donald is the top defensive player at 66/1. The last defensive player to win the award was Lawrence Taylor in 1986.

Bush has 10/1 odds to win the NFL’s Defensive Rookie of the Year Award, tied for the fifth-best odds along with Buffalo defensive tackle Ed Oliver. San Francisco defensive end Nick Bosa is the favorite at 5/1, followed by Jacksonville linebacker Josh Allen at 7/1, Tampa Bay linebacker Devin White at 8/1 and New York Jets defensive end Quinnen Williams at 17/2.

Indianapolis Colts linebacker Darius Leonard won the award last year. The last Steelers player to win the award was linebacker Kendrell Bell in 2001.


Odds: Will the Steelers Draft a Quarterback in the First Round?



Will the Pittsburgh Steelers select a quarterback in the first round of the 2021 NFL Draft?

Oddsmakers don’t think so.

The Steelers are 5/2 (+250) to draft a quarterback in the first round this April and 1/4 (-400) to go in a different direction, courtesy of BetOnline.

Pittsburgh owns the No. 24 overall selection in the 2021 NFL Draft, and could go in a number of directions to address their mounting needs, including quarterback, running back and offensive line.

While the Steelers will miss out on top flight quarterback prospects like Clemson’ Trevor Lawrence and Ohio State’s Justin Fields, who are expected to be drafted in the top three, they still could have some enticing quarterback options at No. 24.

A pair of Heisman Trophy finalists in Alabama’s Mac Jones and Florida’s Kyle Trask could both be available for the Steelers to select late first round.

Jones is coming off a national championship and 41 touchdown pass season for the Crimson Tide, while Trask led the country with 43 touchdown passes for the Gators.

The speculation Pittsburgh will select a quarterback comes as current signal caller Ben Roethlisberger weighs retirement following his 17th season leading the team.

Roethlisberger will turn 39 on March 2, and has one year remaining on his current contract.

Continue Reading


Odds Say Ben Roethlisberger More Likely to Return than Retire



One of the biggest question marks facing the Pittsburgh Steelers this offseason is the future of quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, and whether or not he will retire. Oddsmakers have released odds for Roethlisberger’s impending decision, and seem to believe the 38-year-old will be back for

Roethlisberger is favored to return this offseason at 1/5 (-500), courtesy of BetOnline. He is 3/1 (+300) to return for the 2021 season.

The veteran passer was open about the uncertainty surrounding his future and that of teammates like Maurkice Pouncey following the game.

Roethlisberger led the Steelers to a 12-4 record and division title in his 17th year, but his season was a tale of two halves. He was tremendous to start the season, but seemed to decline as the year went on, raising questions about his future.

Roethlisberger three for 3,803 yards and 33 touchdowns with ten interceptions, completing 65.6% of his passes. Six of those interceptions came over the last six games.

His performance was inconsistent in the Steelers’ first round playoff loss to the Cleveland Browns last Sunday night, as he tossed four interceptions, but also passed four touchdowns and 501 yards. Pouncey and Roethlisberger lingered on the field long after the loss at Heinz Field. 

Roethlisberger is set to turn 39 years old on March 2.

Continue Reading


Steelers Own Eighth-Best Odds to Acquire Carson Wentz



With Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Carson Wentz’s tenure with the franchise likely ending after this season, oddsmakers believe the Pittsburgh Steelers are a possible next destination.

Pittsburgh owns the eighth-best odds at 9/1 (+900) to add Wentz if he happens to be traded or released by Philadelphia, courtesy of

Wentz had a rocky 2020 season, and was eventually replaced by rookie Jalen Hurts midway through, sparking questions about the veterans’ future in the City of Brotherly Love.

In 12 games this season, Wentz tossed 16 touchdowns and a league-leading 15 interceptions. He was also the most sacked quarterback in the NFL, being brought down 50 times.

The Indianapolis Colts are the betting favorites to land Wentz at 3/2 (+150), potentially pairing him with head coach Frank Reich, his first offensive coordinator in Philadelphia.

The Chicago Bears (+200), New England Patriots (+500) and San Francisco 49ers (+600) have the next best odds to acquire Wentz’s services this offseason.

The Denver Broncos (+700), Detroit Lions (+700) and Washington (+800) are all also ahead of the Steelers.

Selected second pick in the 2016 NFL Draft out of North Dakota State, Wentz has spent his entire five-year career with Philadelphia. He has thrown for 16,811 yards with 113 touchdowns and 50 interceptions. Wentz was an MVP candidate and Pro Bowler in 2017 before suffering a season-ending injury.

He signed four-year, $128 million contract extension in June of 2019. While Wentz’s price tag make it more important that the Eagles unload him, it may also make the process more challenging.

Still just 28, Wentz could be a potential future answer for the Steelers at quarterback, though the financials of both clubs could make a deal unlikely.

Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger, 38, in nearing the end of his 17th season, and has one year remains on his current contract.

Continue Reading

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe and get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Moon Golf Club

Copyright © 2020 Pittsburgh Sports Now / Steelers Now. In no way affiliated with or endorsed by the Pittsburgh Steelers or NFL.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!


Send this to a friend