Connect with us


Steelers Clinch 9th AFC North Title with Comeback Win



The Pittsburgh Steelers are AFC North champions, after defeating the Indianapolis Colts, 28-24 on Sunday afternoon.

The Steelers entered the weekend needing either a win at home over the Indianapolis Colts or a Cleveland Browns loss to the New York Jets to clinch the division title, the team’s first since 2017.

Cleveland was trailing the Jets for most of the day, but the Steelers came from behind to beat the Colts, with the game in Pittsburgh finishing just before the game in New York did.

Since the division was formed in 2002, the Steelers have won nine titles, securing championships in 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2014, 2016 and 2017.

Before the team moved to the AFC North, the Steelers spent 32 seasons in the AFC Central, where they won another 15 divisional titles.

The Steelers’ 24 overall division titles are the most of any team in the NFL’s era of divisional play.

The division title also comes with a guaranteed home date in the first round of the 2020 NFL playoffs, though the Steelers will not be able to earn a first-round bye, which the Kansas City Chiefs clinched earlier on Sunday.

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!