Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers DeCastro, Fitzpatrick, Heyward, Pouncey, Watt Named to 2021 Pro Bowl Squad



Five Steelers players were named starters and reserves for the 2021 NFL Pro Bowl, the league announced on Monday.

Guard David DeCastro, free safety Minkah Fitzpatrick, interior defensive lineman Cam Heyward, center Maurkice Pouncey and outside linebacker T.J. Watt were all chosen for the game, after tabulation of voting by NFL fans, players and coaches.

Fitzpatrick, Heyward, Pouncey and Watt were named starters, while DeCastro is a backup. Pouncey was selected for the ninth time in his career, DeCastro the sixth time, Heyward the fourth time, Watt the third time and Fitzpatrick his second time. Fitzpatrick and Watt led the fan voting at their position, as did long snapper Kameron Canaday, who was not selected.

The Steelers had five starters and reserves nominated for the second straight season. Cornerback Joe Haden was added as an alternate in 2020 to five the team six total Pro Bowlers.

While the teams will still be selected, the 2021 NFL Pro Bowl will not be played. Instead, the Pro Bowl events will be led virtually and the game will be streamed via Madden NFL 21.

The game had been scheduled to be played at Allegiant Stadium in las Vegas on Jan. 31.