Connect with us


Steelers DT Cam Heyward Selected as The Chief Award Winner By Pittsburgh PFWA



Cam Heyward

Steelers defensive tackle Cam Heyward has been named the recipient of the 2021 The Chief Award by the Pittsburgh chapter of the Pro Football Writers Association.

The award is given annually to the member of the Steelers organization that “best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media” of team founder Arthur J. Rooney Sr.

Heyward is a three-time winner of The Chief Award, also being honored after the 2014 and 2019 seasons. 

Running back Jerome Bettis is the only player to win the award three times, being honored in 1998, 2000 and 2004. Lee Flowers (1999 & 2001), Alan Faneca (2005 & 2007), James Farrior (2009 & 2011) and Ben Roethlisberger (2010 & 2020) have all won the award twice.

Here is the full list of Chief Award winners:

1988  Dan Rooney
1989  Dwayne Woodruff
1990  Merril Hoge
1991  Gerald Williams
1992  Tunch Ilkin
1993  D.J. Johnson
1994  Rod Woodson
1995  Levon Kirkland
1996  Chad Brown
1997  Darren Perry
1998  Jerome Bettis
1999  Lee Flowers
2000  Jerome Bettis
2001  Lee Flowers
2002  Hines Ward
2003  Mike Logan
2004  Jerome Bettis
2005  Alan Faneca
2006 Brett Keisel and Deshea Townsend
2007 Alan Faneca
2008 Ryan Clark
2009 James Farrior
2010 Ben Roethlisberger
2011 James Farrior
2012 Casey Hampton
2013 Ike Taylor

2014 Cameron Heyward
2015 Ramon Foster
2016 Arthur Moats
2017 David DeCastro
2018 Joe Haden

2019 Cameron Heyward
2020 Ben Roethlisberger
2021 Cameron Heyward

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!