Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers QB Ben Roethlisberger Wins The Chief Award for Media Cooperation



Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger has been award The Chief Award for cooperation with the media by the members of the Pittsburgh chapter of the Pro Football Writers Association, chapter president Mark Kaboly announced on Wednesday.

The Chief Award was established in 1988 in memory of Steelers founder Art “The Chief” Rooney, Sr., and is presented annually by the Pittsburgh PFWA to the Steelers player that “best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media” that Rooney embodied.

The award is the second in Roethlisberger’s 17-year career. He also won it in 2010. Only one player — running back Jerome Bettis — has won the ward three times, in 1998, 2000 and 2004.

Roethlisberger joins Cam Heyward, James Farrior, Alan Faneca, Lee Flowers and Deshea Townsend as two-time winners.

Here is the full list of winners of the The Chief Award:

2020 Ben Roethlisberger
2019 Cam Heyward
2018 Joe Haden
2017 David DeCastro
2016 Arthur Moats
2015 Ramon Foster
2014 Cam Heyward
2013 Ike Taylor
2012 Casey Hampton
2011 James Farrior
2010 Ben Roethlisberger
2009 James Farrior
2008 Ryan Clark
2007 Alan Faneca
2006 Brett Keisel – Deshea Townsend
2005 Alan Faneca
2004 Jerome Bettis
2003 Mike Logan
2002 Hines Ward
2001 Lee Flowers
2000 Jerome Bettis – Dehsea Townswend
1999 Lee Flowers
1998 Jerome Bettis
1997 Darren Perry
1996 Chad Brown
1995 Levon Kirkland
1994 Rod Woodson
1993 D.J. Johnson
1992 Tunch Ilkin
1991 Gerald Williams
1990 Merril Hoge
1989 Dewayne Woodruff
1988 Dan Rooney