Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers Release First Depth Chart of 2021; Brooks, Hassenauer in Starting Spots



The Pittsburgh Steelers have released their first depth chart of the 2021 season, and we finally have some clarity as to what the club will do at center and slot corner.

Veteran J.C. Hassenauer is listed as the starter at center over rookie Kendrick Green. 

After joining the Steelers as a street free agent in 2019, Hassenauer saw his first significant action last season. He appeared in 15 games a year ago with four starts. Specially, Hassenauer played 235 snaps at center, including nearly all of the Steelers’ Week 12, 13 and 17 games replacing Maurkice Pouncey.

Steelers head coach Mike Tomlin announced Thursday that Green will start the Hall of Fame game against the Dallas Cowboys on Aug. 5 in Canton, Ohio.

Pittsburgh Steelers safety Antoine Brooks Jr. (25) participates in the Organized Team Activities (OTAs), Tuesday June 8, 2021 at the UPMC Rooney Sports Complex. (Karl Roser / Pittsburgh Steelers)

As for slot corner, second-year defensive back Antoine Brooks Jr. is listed as the starter in that crucial spot.

Following the departure of Mike Hilton, nickel corner was a glaring hole that Pittsburgh needed to fill this preseason. Brooks appears to be their first option through a handful of practices. 

Selected in the sixth round of the 2020 NFL Draft out of Maryland, Brooks bounced between the Steelers’ practice squad and active roster last season. He played 39 total snaps in 2020, and recorded two tackles in the Steelers’ Dec. 2 game against the Baltimore Ravens.

Cornerback Arthur Maulet is listed as the second option at the position. There are no other surprises on the depth chart otherwise three practices into training camp.


QB: Ben Roethlisberger

RB: Najee Harris

TE: Eric Ebron

WR: Chase Claypool, Diontae Johnson and JuJu Smith-Schuster

FB: Derek Watt

LT: Chukwuma Okorafor

LG: Kevin Dotson

C: J.C. Hassenauer

RG:  Trai Turner

RT: Zach Banner

DT: Cam Heyward

DE: Stephon Tuitt

NT: Tyson Alualu

LOLB: T.J. Watt

LILB: Devin Bush

RILB: Robert Spillane

ROLB: Alex Highsmith

LCB: Joe Haden

RCB: Cameron Sutton

NCB: Antoine Brooks Jr.

FS: Minkah Fitzpatrick

SS: Terrell Edmunds

K: Chris Boswell

P: Jordan Berry

LS: Kameron Canaday

KR/PR: Ray-Ray McCloud