Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers Leave NFL Honors Empty Handed



Steelers DL Cam Heyward NFL Honors

The Pittsburgh Steelers were shut out at the 2022 NFL Honors award show on Friday night, with the Black and Gold failing to pick up any hardware.

Steelers defensive tackle Cam Heyward was nominated as the team’s nominee for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, but Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott was selected instead.

Steelers running back Najee Harris was nominated for the NFL Network’s Angriest Run of the Year, but lost to Houston Texans back Dameon Pierce.

Quarterback Kenny Pickett was among the vote-getters for the NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award, which was won by New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson. Pickett got seven vote points, finishing sixth behind Wilson, Kenneth Walker, Brock Purdy, Chris Olave and Tyler Allgeier.

Safety Minkah Fitzpatrick received one vote point for NFL Defensive Player of the Year, finishing ninth in the voting for that award, which was won by Nick Bosa of the San Francisco 49ers.

The Steelers also did not have any members enshrined in the Pro Football hall of Fame Class of 2022.

RELATED: Franco Harris Memorialized at NFL Honors.

Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt won the NFL Defensive Player of the Year and the Deacon Jones Sack Leader Award in 2021.


Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!