Connect with us


Steelers TE Vance McDonald Nominated for Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award



Steelers tight end Vance McDonald has been named the team’s nominee for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award, the league announced on Thursday.

The award is given out annually to the NFL player with the most outstanding community service activities off the field and excellence on the field. Each team nominates one player, with the winner announced at the annual NFL Honors awards show the week of the Super Bowl. Each of the 32 nominees will receive a $40,000 donation in their name to a charity of their choice.

Four Steelers have won the award in the past: Franco Harris in 1976, Joe Greene in 1979, Lynn Swann in 1981 and Jerome Bettis in 2001.

McDonald is in his fourth season with the Steelers. He has worked with the Convoy of Hope and Light of Life Rescue Mission in the past.

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!