Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers Tied with Third-Most Members of Pro Football Hall of Fame



The Pittsburgh Steelers now are tied for the third-most players, coaches and executives associated with the team inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, following the Saturday announcement of the elections of guard Alan Faneca and scout Bill Nunn to the Class of 2021.

There have been 32 members of the Steelers voted into the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio since the inaugural class in 1963.

The Chicago Bears have had the most individuals enshrined, with 37. The Los Angeles Rams are second with 35. The Green Bay Packers are also tied at third with 32 honored individuals after Packers cornerback Charles Woodson was also voted into the Class of 2021. Tied with the Packers and Steelers at third-most with 32 are the New York Giants and Washington.

The Steelers have had five individuals honored in the last two years, with Faneca and Nunn joining Class of 2020 members Bill Cowher, Troy Polamalu and Donnie Shell.

Both classes will be enshrined this August in Canton, as the Class of 2020’s ceremony last summer was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Steelers are scheduled face the Dallas Cowboys in the 2021 Pro Football Hall of Fame Game, the annual kickoff to the NFL season at Canton’s Tom Benson Stadium.

Here’s the full list of Steelers honorees:

1963 Coach/Owner Bert Bell
1963 Tackle Cal Hubbard
1963 Coach/HB Johnny “Blood” McNally
1964 Owner Art Rooney
1966 Coach/G Walt Kiesling
1966 HB Bill Dudley
1967 QB Bobby Layne
1968 FB Marion Motley
1969 DT Ernie Stautner
1993 Coach Chuck Noll
1987 DT Joe Greene
1987 QB Len Dawson
1987 FB John Henry Johnson
1988 OLB Jack Ham
1989 CB Mel Blount
1989 QB Terry Bradshaw
1990 MLB Jack Lambert
1990 RB Franco Harris
1997 C Mike Webster
2000 Owner Dan Rooney
2001 WR Lynn Swann
2002 WR John Stallworth
2009 CB/KR Rod Woodson
2012 CB Jack Butler
2012 C Dermontti Dawson
2015 RB Jerome Bettis
2016 OLB Kevin Greene
2020 Coach Bill Cowher
2020 S Donnie Shell
2020 S Troy Polamalu
2021 G Alan Faneca
2021 Scout Bill Nunn