Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers to Announce 2019 Hall of Honor at St. Vincent College on July 27



The Steelers will announce their third set of inductions to the team’s Hall of Honor on July 27, the team announced on Wednesday.

That announcement will also coincide with the Steelers Charity Walk. Both events will take place at St. Vincent College in Latrobe, Pa., where the Steelers hold their training camp.

The Hall of Honor, established in 2017, is made up of former Steelers players, coaches, and executives and is chosen by a committee that includes team president Art Rooney II, former executives Joe Gordon and Tony Quatrini, writer Bob Labriola and media members Stan Savran and Andrew Stockey.

In the first class in 2017, 27 members were inducted. Last year, five more were added.

The first two classes included Jerome Bettis, Rocky Bleier, Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Jack Butler, Dermontti Dawson, Buddy Dial, Bill Dudley, Alan Faneca, Joe Greene, Kevin Greene, L.C. Greenwood, Jack Ham, Franco Harris, Dick Hoak, John Henry Johnson, Walt Keisling, Jack Lambert, Bobby Layne, John McNally, Chuck Noll, Bill Nunn, Arthur J. Rooney, Sr., Arthur J. Rooney, Jr., Daniel M. Rooney, Andy Russell, Donnie Shell, John Stallworth, Ernie Stautner, Lynn Swann, Mike Webster, and Rod Woodson.

The Steelers Charity Walk benefits the Chuck Noll Foundation for Brain Injury Research. Blount, a former Steelers cornerback and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, is the honorary co-chair of the walk this year, and will speak to participants before the walk at 10 a.m. at St. Vincent’s Chuck Noll field on July 27.

The Steelers launched the Chuck Noll Foundation for Brain Injury Research in honor of their former coach in 2016. It supports research into treatment for concussions and other brain injuries.