Connect with us

Steelers News

Stephon Tuitt Wins Steelers 2020 Ed Block Courage Award



Steelers DL Stephon Tuitt

Steelers defensive end Stephon Tuitt was named the team’s recipient of the 2020 Ed Block Courage Award on Monday.

The award, voted on by the members of the team, is given to the member of each NFL who exemplifies sportsmanship and courage, along with their ability to overcome personal or professional adversity.

Tuitt missed all but six games in 2019 after suffered a season-ending pectoral injury. He came back to start 15 games in 2020 and finished second on the team with a career-high 11 sacks.

“It’s an honor to be chosen for an award like this and an honor for my teammates to think of me,” Tuitt said to “I’m humbled and I appreciate them for putting me at the forefront for this, and I appreciate the opportunity from the Steelers organization.”

Running back James Conner won the award in 2019. Linebacker Ryan Shazier won the award in 2018. Center Maurkice Pouncey and quarterback Ben Roethlisberger are other active former winners.

Block was a trainer for the Baltimore Colts from 1954-77. After his retirement, an annual award was given in Block’s honor for a Colts player with outstanding character. In 1984, after the Colts moved to Indianapolis, the award was expanded to honor one player on each NFL team.