Connect with us


T.J. Watt Voted Steelers Team MVP for 2nd Straight Season



Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt has been voted the team’s Most Valuable Player for the second straight season.

Watt is the first Steeler to be elected team MVP in consecutive seasons since fellow outside linebacker James Harrison in 2007 and 2008.

He becomes the sixth player in franchise history to have earned the franchise’s highest performance-based honor in back-to-back season.

In addition to Watt and Harrison, wide receiver Hines Ward, linebacker Levon Kirkland, running back Jerome Bettis and quarterback Terry Bradshaw have also been voted MVP in consecutive seasons.

Watt is a bonafide NFL Defensive Player of the Year favorite for the second straight season as well, leading the league in sacks (15), tackles-for-loss (23) and quarterback hits (41). He also has seven passes defended, two forced fumbles and an interception.

Watt is just the third player over the last 15 years to record at least 15 sacks, 23 tackles-for-loss and 40 quarterback hits, joining his brother J.J. (2012, 2014 and 2015) of the Houston Texans and Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald (2018).

Selected in the first round of the 2017 NFL Draft out of Wisconsin, Watt has already earned three Pro Bowl nods and a First-Team All-Pro selection a year ago. He also finished third in Defensive Player of the Year in 2019.

Watt will look to build on his impressive 2020 resume when the Steelers visit the Browns in the regular season finale Sunday.

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!