Connect with us

Steelers News

T.J. Watt Wins 101 Award AFC Defensive Player of the Year



Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt has been named 101 Award AFC Defensive Player of the Year.

While not the official NFL Defensive Player of the Year award that will be handed out the night before Super Bowl LV, it is still a tremendous honor, voted on by a committee of 101 national media members who cover the league.

Watt joins a fraternity of winners that includes his brother J.J., defensive end for the Houston Texans, who won the award four times. They are the only siblings to win the award in its 51-year history.

Watt had monster year for Pittsburgh, and was voted team MVP by his peers for the second-straight season. A former first round selection of the Steelers in the 2017 NFL Draft, Watt led the league with 15 sacks and 23 tackles-for-loss, while also tallying 41 quarterback hits, two forced fumbles and an interception.

He was also named First-Team All-Pro for the second-straight season, and selected to a third consecutive Pro Bowl.

Past Steelers to win AFC Defensive Player of the Year include Troy Polamalu (2010), James Harrison (2008), Carnell Lake (1997), Greg Lloyd (1994), Rod Woodson (1993), Jack Lambert (1976), Mel Blount (1975), and Joe Greene (1972, 74).