Connect with us

Steelers News

James Harrison, Aaron Smith Headline Steelers 2023 Hall of Honor Class



Steelers OLB James Harrison

UNITY TWP., Pa — The Pittsburgh Steelers announced their 2023 Hall of Honor Class Saturday from the Fred Rogers Center of Saint Vincent College. It included modern stars, including James Harrison and Aaron Smith. The ‘older’ inductees are Gerry ‘Moon’ Mullins and Ray Mansfield.

Harrison is a notable member of the group. He was cut four times before finally latching on with the Steelers as his team. The undersized, hulk of a man known as ‘Deebo’ won 2008 Defensive Player of the Year and was a two-time All-Pro selection while with the team. He played with the group for 14 seasons and capped off his career with a 100-yard interception return in the Super Bowl to allow the team to defeat the Arizona Cardinals.

“He was the quintessential Steelers linebacker, he was feared around the league,” Bob Labriola said.

Another one of the modern recipients was Aaron Smith. Smith played his entire career from 1999 to 2011 with the Steelers, racking up 44 sacks as a 3-4 defensive end throughout his career with the team. He won two Super Bowls with the team and only made the Pro Bowl once, but is regarded as one of the best defensive linemen for the team.

Moon Mullins played with the team during their golden era during the 1970s. From 1971 to 1979, Mullins started 87 games with the team at various positions, playing right tackle, left guard, and right guard during his entire career with the team. The entire the Steel Curtain era offensive line is now in the Hall of Honor.

Lastly, Ray Mansfield played with the team from 1963 to 1976. Despite starting out with the Eagles, Mansfield played 13 seasons and started 163 games with the team during their golden age in the NFL. He won two Super Bowls with the Steelers and was one of the veterans that helped nurture the young team that would become one of the greatest dynasties in NFL history.

The group will be honored on October 29th when the Steelers welcome the Jacksonville Jaguars to town. Those proceedings with happen on the field at Acrisure Stadium to honor the recipients.