Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers Fitzpatrick, Heyward, Watt Named First-Team All-Pros



Steelers FS Minkah Fitzpatrick

Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt, defensive lineman Cam Heyward and safety Minkah Fitzpatrick have been selected as first-team Associated Press NFL All-Pros. All-Pro selections are made by a panel of 50 national media members.

It’s the second selection for Heyward, who was also a first-team All-Pro in 2017. It’s the first time Fitzpatrick and Watt have been selected.

Watt had 22 votes, second amongst edge rushers, and also received 11 votes as a linebacker, earning second-team All-Pro honors at that position. His total of 33 votes was a team high.

Heyward’s 23 votes at interior defensive line trailed only Aaron Donald of the Los Angeles Rams. Fitzpatrick’s 27 votes were one behind Jamal Adams of the New York Jets at safety.

Rookie wide receiver Diontae Johnson was also selected as as second-team All-Pro at punt returner. He had 12 votes, behind New Orleans’ Deonte Harris.

Other Steelers to receive votes included right guard David DeCastro (1), center Maurkice Pouncey (4), safety Terrell Edmunds (1) and special teamer Tyler Matakevich (1).

The Steelers had just one All-Pro in 2018, when Pouncey was selected to the second team. Four Steelers were selected as first-team All-Pros in 2017.