Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers HC Mike Tomlin Receives Votes for Coach of the Year



Steelers Tomlin
Pittsburgh Steelers head coach Mike Tomlin at training camp on July 27, 2022. -- Ed Thompson / Steelers Now

Pittsburgh Steelers head coach Mike Tomlin received three votes for the Associated Press 2023 NFL Coach of the Year Award, finishing seventh in the voting.

Tomlin earned one second-place and two third-place votes for a total of five vote points. Cleveland Browns head coach Kevin Stefanski won the award with 165 vote-points, breaking a tie with DeMeco Ryans of the Houston Texans by virtue of more first-place votes.

Dan Campbell of the Detroit Lions was third with 33 vote points. Kyle Shanahan of the San Francisco 49ers and John Harbaugh of the Baltimore Ravens tied with 36 vote points. Sean McVay of the Los Angels Rams was the last coach to receive a first-place vote and finished with 21 vote points.

Tomlin has the 11th-most wins in NFL history and just completed his NFL record 17th consecutive season without a losing record to start his career, but has never won the AP NFL Coach of the Year Award.

Five other coaches received votes with a lower total than Tomlin: Philadelphia Eagles head coach Steichen (four vote points), Green Bay Packers head coach Matt LaFleur (two vote points), Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Todd Bowles, Miami Dolphins head coach Mike McDaniel and Buffalo Bills head coach Sean McDermott (one vote point).

RELATED: Art Rooney II Explains Continued Faith in Mike Tomlin, Says Extension is Coming