Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers CB Patrick Peterson Wins 2023 Chief Award



Steelers CB Patrick Peterson

PITTSBURGH — Steelers defensive back Patrick Peterson has been named the winner of the 2023 Chief Award by the Pittsburgh chapter of the Pro Football Writers Association.

The award is given annually to a member of the Steelers organization that “best exemplifies the spirit of cooperation with the media” of team founder Arthur J. Rooney Sr.

Patrick Peterson, who was signed in the offseason from the Minnesota Vikings, is a first-time winner of the award. The 2022 winner was Steelers center Mason Cole. Peterson is the first defensive back to win the award since Joe Haden won in 2018. Peterson has started games at cornerback and safety this season, meaning he joins multiple former defensive backs to win the award. Four other safeties and six other cornerbacks have been named the winner of the award since its inception in 1988.

In addition to his great attitude with the local media, Peterson also co-hosts a successful podcast, All Things Covered, with his cousin and former Steelers cornerback Bryant McFadden.

Here is the full list of Chief Award winners:

1988 Dan Rooney
1989 Dwayne Woodruff
1990 Merril Hoge
1991 Gerald Williams
1992 Tunch Ilkin
1993 D.J. Johnson
1994 Rod Woodson
1995 Levon Kirkland
1996 Chad Brown
1997 Darren Perry
1998 Jerome Bettis
1999 Lee Flowers
2000 Jerome Bettis
2001 Lee Flowers
2002 Hines Ward
2003 Mike Logan
2004 Jerome Bettis
2005 Alan Faneca
2006 Brett Keisel and Deshea Townsend
2007 Alan Faneca
2008 Ryan Clark
2009 James Farrior
2010 Ben Roethlisberger
2011 James Farrior
2012 Casey Hampton
2013 Ike Taylor
2014 Cameron Heyward
2015 Ramon Foster
2016 Arthur Moats
2017 David DeCastro
2018 Joe Haden
2019 Cameron Heyward
2020 Ben Roethlisberger
2021 Cameron Heyward
2022 Mason Cole
2023 Patrick Peterson

Alan Saunders and Nick Farabaugh of Steelers Now are members of the PFWA and voted on the award.