Connect with us

Steelers News

Minkah Fitzpatrick First Steelers Player to Win Bart Starr Award



Steelers FS Minakh Fitzpatrick
Pittsburgh Steelers safety Minkah Fitzpatrick runs out of the tunnel for a game against the New England Patriots on Dec. 8, 2023. -- Ed Thompson / Steelers Now

Pittsburgh Steelers free safety Minkah Fitzpatrick has won the 2023 Bart Starr Award, presented by Athletes in Action.

The Starr Award is given annually to the NFL player who “best exemplifies outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community.”

The award is presented annually at the Super Bowl Breakfast, which occurs in the host city the day before the Super Bowl. Starr presented the award in person from its inception in 1989 until a stroke in 2015 prevented him from doing so. Starr’s son, Bart Starr Jr., and former Pittsburgh Steelers player and coach Tony Dungy currently present the award.

Fitzpatrick is the first Steelers player to win the award in its 35-year history.

Fitzpatrick was recognized for his work in the Pittsburgh community, including his efforts to tackle child abuse and raise resources and awareness for families in need, children in foster care and other worthy causes.

“I’ve always believed as an athlete that being the best man you can be off the field goes hand-in-hand with playing your best football, Fitzpatrick said. “Bart Starr was a man who embodied that, both in his career on the field and with his great work in the community. It’s an honor to be selected by my peers for an award bearing his name.”


1989 Steve Largent, Seattle Seahawks
1990 Anthony Munoz, Cincinnati Bengals
1991 Mike Singletary, Chicago Bears
1992 Reggie White, Philadelphia Eagles
1993 Gill Byrd, San Diego Chargers
1994 Warren Moon, Houston Oilers
1995 Cris Carter, Minnesota Vikings
1996 Jackie Slater, St. Louis Rams
1997 Darrell Green, Washington Redskins
1998 Irving Fryer, Philadelphia Eagles and Brent Jones, San Francisco 49ers
1999 Eugene Robinson, Atlanta Falcons
2000 Aeneas Williams, Arizona Cardinals
2001 Bruce Matthews, Tennessee Titans
2002 Darren Woodson, Dallas Cowboys
2003 Trent Dilfer, Seattle Seahawks
2004 Derrick Brooks, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2005 Troy Vincent, Buffalo Bills
2006 Curtis Martin, New York Jets
2007 John Lynch, Denver Broncos
2008 LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego Chargers
2009 Warrick Dunn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2010 Kurt Warner, Arizona Cardinals
2011 Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
2012 London Fletcher, Washington Redskins
2013 Jason Witter, Dallas Cowboys
2014 Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers
2015 Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos
2016 Thomas Davis, Carolina Panthers
2017 Matthew Slater, New England Patriots
2018 Benjamin Watson, New Orleans Saints
2019 Calais Campbell, Jacksonville Jaguars
2020 Eli Manning, New York Giants
2021 Demario Davis, New Orleans Saints
2022 Russell Wilson, Seattle Seahawks
2023 Kirk Cousins, Minnesota Vikings

Fitzpatrick has excelled on and off the field. He was recently selected to his fourth Pro Bowl, despite an injury riddled 2023 season.