Connect with us


Steelers Media Relation Department Nominated for PFWA Award



The Pittsburgh Steelers media relations department has been nominated for the Pro Football Writers of America’s Pete Rozelle Award, given to a team’s public relations staff “consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media.”

Led by Director of Communications Burt Lauten, the club’s communications department “consistently does an outstanding job of helping PFWA members cover the organization,” according to PFWA journalists in Pittsburgh.

Michael Bertsch, Angela Tegnelia, Alissa Cavaretta and Thomas Chapman were also recognized for their dedication to assisting the Pittsburgh media.

The Steelers are two-time recipients of the Pete Rozelle Award already, in 1991 and 2015.

Rozelle served as NFL Commissioner from 1960-89. His first opportunity in the league was serving as the Los Angeles Rams’ public relations director from 1952-55.

Rozelle is largely credited with turning the NFL into the superpower organization that it is today. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

The Baltimore Ravens, Denver Broncos, Indianapolis Colts and New England Patriots were also nominated.

Steelers Now in Your Mailbox!

Enter your email address to subscribe and get notifications of new posts in your mailbox.

Copyright © 2021 Pittsburgh Sports Now / Steelers Now. In no way affiliated with or endorsed by the Pittsburgh Steelers or NFL.

Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER (PA/IL) or 1-800-9-WITH-IT (IN only) or 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA only) or 1-800-522-4700 (CO Only) or TN REDLINE: 800-889-9789.

Steelers Now in your Inbox

Sign up and get all of our posts sent directly to your inbox!

Thank you!