Connect with us

Steelers News

Steelers Media Relations Staff Finalists for PFWA Pete Rozelle Award



Steelers PR Burt Lauten

For the third time in four seasons, the Pittsburgh Steelers’ media relations department has been nominated for the Pro Football Writers of America’s Pete Rozelle Award, given to a team’s public relations staff that “consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media.”

“The Steelers are unique in their willingness to grant open locker room access before and after practice during the regular season and implore longtime coach Mike Tomlin to be of service to local beat writers,” the PFWA wrote in the nomination.

The Steelers have won the award twice previously, in 1991 and 2015. They were also nominated in 1990, 2006, 2009, 2020 and 2021.

The Steelers media relations staff consists of senior director of communications Burt Lauten, communications manager Michael Bertsch, communications coordinator Angela Tegnelia and communications assistant MacKaiya Cherry.

Rozelle served as NFL commissioner from 1960-89. His first opportunity in the league was serving as the Los Angeles Rams’ public relations director from 1952-55. Rozelle is largely credited with turning the NFL into the organization that it is today and he was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

The New England Patriots won the award last year. The Baltimore Ravens, Denver Broncos, Detroit Lions and Washington Commanders were also nominated for the 2022 award.

Entering its 60th season in 2023, the PFWA is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily.