Connect with us

Steelers News

T.J. Watt Named 101 Awards AFC Defensive Player of the Year



T.J. Watt

Pittsburgh Steelers outside linebacker T.J. Watt has been selected as the 101 Awards AFC Defensive Player of the Year for the second-straight season.

Watt tied Hall of Famer Michael Strahan for the most sacks in a single season in NFL history with 22.5. He also recorded a league-leading 21 tackles-for-loss, 39 quarterback hits and five forced fumbles.

RELATED: T.J. Watt, Cam Heyward named to 2021 PFWA All-NFL Team

Watt joins Hall of Famer “Mean” Joe Greene as the only Steeler to win the award twice. Greene did so in 1972 and 1974. Troy Polamalu (2010), James Harrison (2008), Carnell Lake (1997), Greg Lloyd (1994), Rod Woodson (1993), Jack Lambert (1976) and Mel Blount (1975) have also received the honor.

The award is decided annually by a selection committee of 101 national media covering the NFL. Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons won the NFC equivalent. The award will be handed out at the 101 Awards dinner in Kansas City, which has been held since 1969.